Academic Calendar

Two semesters are offered each academic year. Each semester comprises 15 weeks. Fall semester starts in early September and spring semester in early February. See below for specific information about the current and future academic years:

Fall 2019 Semester Schedule

Earliest arrival date August 14 (Wed)
Optional Hungarian Immersion course August 21 (Wed)* to September 5 (Thu)
Last day to arrive in Budapest September 4 (Wed)
Academic orientation and welcome party September 5 (Thu)
First day of classes September 9 (Mon)
Registration deadline September 26, noon (Thu)
Last day to drop a course December 6 (Fri)
Last day of classes December 13 (Fri)
Final Exams December 16 (Mon) to 18 (Wed)
Farewell party December 19 (Thu)
Last day to vacate housing December 30 (Mon)

* We suggest you to arrive by August 19 (Mon) for the Hungarian Immersion course. Please, also note, that August 19 (Mon) and 20 (Tue) are National Holidays.

Official holidays (no classes, BSME Budapest Office closed):

  • Fall break: Oct 19 (Sat) – Oct 23 (Wed) 
  • All Saint’s Day:  Nov 1 (Fri)
  • Thanksgiving: Nov 28 (Thu) and Nov 29 (Fri)

Note: Oct 23 and Nov 1 are national holidays, stores are closed.

Spring 2020 Semester Schedule

Earliest arrival date January 6 (Mon)
Optional Hungarian Immersion course January 14 (Tue)* to January 29 (Wed)
Last day to arrive in Budapest January 29 (Wed)
Academic orientation and welcome party January 30 (Thu)
First day of classes February 3 (Mon)
Registration deadline February 20, noon (Thu)
Last day to drop a course May 8 (Fri)
Last day of classes May 15 (Fri)
Final Exams May 18 (Mon) to 20 (Wed)
Farewell party May 21 (Thu)
Last day to vacate housing May 24 (Sun)

* We suggest you to arrive by January 12 (Sun) for the Hungarian Immersion course.

Official holidays (no classes, BSME Budapest Office closed): Spring break: April 6 (Mon) – April 13 (Mon), Labor Day: May 1 (Fri) (resulting in a long weekend May 1 (Fri) – May 3 (Sun))

Fall 2020 Semester Schedule

Earliest arrival date August 10 (Mon)
Optional Hungarian Immersion course August 17 (Mon)* to September 2 (Wed)
Last day to arrive in Budapest September 2 (Wed)
Academic orientation and welcome party September 3 (Thu)
First day of classes September 7 (Mon)
Registration deadline September 24, noon (Thu)
Last day to drop a course December 4 (Fri)
Last day of classes December 11 (Fri)
Final Exams December 14 (Mon) to 16 (Wed)
Farewell party December 17 (Thu)
Last day to vacate housing December 30 (Wed)

* We suggest you to arrive by August 15 (Sat) for the Hungarian Immersion course. 

Official holidays (no classes, BSME Budapest Office closed): TBA.

Spring 2021 Semester Schedule

Earliest arrival date January 4 (Mon)
Optional Hungarian Immersion course January 12 (Tue)* to January 27 (Wed)
Last day to arrive in Budapest January 27 (Wed)
Academic orientation and welcome party January 28 (Thu)
First day of classes February 1 (Mon)
Registration deadline February 18, noon (Thu)
Last day to drop a course May 7 (Fri)
Last day of classes May 14 (Fri)
Final Exams May 17 (Mon) to 19 (Wed)
Farewell party May 20 (Thu)
Last day to vacate housing May 23 (Sun)

* We suggest you to arrive by January 10 (Sun) for the Hungarian Immersion course.

Official holidays (no classes, BSME Budapest Office closed): TBA.