Summer Online: Overview

Application and Costs

Program Description

Budapest Semesters in Mathematics Education (BSME) is a study abroad program in Budapest, Hungary, designed for those interested in the learning and teaching of secondary mathematics. BSME participants explore the Hungarian pedagogy, in which a strong and explicit emphasis is placed on problem solving, mathematical creativity, and communication. 

Who should apply? BSME welcomes participants with varying levels of background. You may be currently pursuing a teaching license; you may be planning to pursue other paths to licensure (e.g., master’s program); you may be an in-service teacher; or you may be simply curious about the learning and teaching of mathematics, particularly the student-centered approach. The common thread among BSME participants is their genuine interest in mathematics education and effective teaching practices. (Note: Participants must have completed at least one year of college and be 18 years in age by the time they enter BSME.)

Why BSME? Today’s teachers are expected to provide students with opportunities to struggle productively towards understanding, and the Hungarian pedagogy has the potential to play a critical role in this endeavor. At BSME, we are excited for our participants to develop and bring back this new perspective on mathematics education.

Due to the COVID-19 situation, we will run an online program for the Summer 2020 session. Given the strong demand for teachers to learn about online instruction in the current climate, the Summer 2020 session will have a dual focus on the Hungarian pedagogy and online instruction.

Dates for Summer 2020

Summer online program will run for five weeks.

  • Program begins on Monday, June 29.
  • Program ends on Friday, July 31.

Courses Offered

We will offer four courses in mathematics education that have a shared goal of engaging participants in the Hungarian pedagogy. Class sizes are small, with a maximum of 12–14 students in each class section. Participants may choose to take 1 to 4 courses from the selection below.

  • DLP Discovery Learning: The Pósa Method
  • GMP Gamification and Playfulness in Teaching Mathematics
  • GPS Teaching Geometry through Problem Solving
  • PRC Practicum: Experiencing the Hungarian Approach through Observation and Teaching

Note that GMP and GPS will be offered during the first half of the program (June 29 – July 14), while DLP and PRC will be offered in the second half (July 15 – July 30). See the Schedule page for more details.

Course selection guidelines:

  • For a complete experience, we recommend taking 3–4 courses, including PRC.
  • If you’re taking PRC, you must be enrolled in at least one other course.

Course format

BSME courses will be taught synchronously, with live online class sessions at pre-scheduled times. We will use the web conferencing software Zoom, which is freely available.

All classes will be held between 5–10 PM Budapest time, which corresponds to these US timezones:

  • 11 AM – 4 PM Eastern
  • 10 AM – 3 PM Central
  • 9 AM – 2 PM Mountain
  • 8 AM – 1 PM Pacific

For more details, see the Schedule page.  

Course Credits

BSME courses are designed so that credits are transferable to American colleges and universities. St. Olaf College is the School of Record for BSME and provides the transcripts. See this page for how credits from BSME courses typically transfer to participants’ home institutions.

Each course in the online program will meet for 20 hours and is worth 0.5 semester credits.

apply