Fall Online: Overview

Due to the COVID-19 situation, BSME will run an online program for the Fall 2020 semester. We are not charging tuition or issuing transferable credit to your home institutions. There is a small registration fee to reserve your space in each course.

Program Description

Budapest Semesters in Mathematics Education (BSME) is designed for those interested in the learning and teaching of secondary mathematics. BSME participants explore the Hungarian pedagogy, in which a strong and explicit emphasis is placed on problem solving, mathematical creativity, and communication. 

Who should apply? BSME welcomes participants with varying levels of background. You may be currently pursuing a teaching license; you may be planning to pursue other paths to licensure (e.g., master’s program); you may be an in-service teacher; or you may be simply curious about the learning and teaching of mathematics, particularly the student-centered approach. The common thread among BSME participants is their genuine interest in mathematics education and effective teaching practices. (Note: Participants must have completed at least one year of college and be 18 years in age by the time they enter BSME.)

Why BSME? Today’s teachers are expected to provide students with opportunities to struggle productively towards understanding, and the Hungarian pedagogy has the potential to play a critical role in this endeavor. At BSME, we are excited for our participants to develop and bring back this new perspective on mathematics education.

Important Dates for Fall 2020

  • Friday, September 18: Introductory session (5 pm – 8:30 pm Budapest time)
  • Monday, September 21: First day of classes
  • Thursday, November 26 – Friday, November 27: Thanksgiving break
  • Friday, December 18: Last day of classes
  • Monday, December 21: Farewell party (5 pm – 6:30 pm Budapest time)

Courses Offered

We will offer five courses in mathematics education that have a shared goal of engaging participants in the Hungarian pedagogy. Class sizes are small, with a maximum of 12–14 students in each class section. Participants may choose to take 1 to 5 courses from the selection below.

  • DLP Discovery Learning: The Pósa Method
  • GMP Gamification and Playfulness in Teaching Mathematics
  • GPS Teaching Geometry through Problem Solving
  • PRC Practicum: Experiencing the Hungarian Approach through Observation and Teaching
  • DRS Directed Research: Discovery Learning in Secondary Schools

Course format and schedule

BSME courses will be taught synchronously, with live online class sessions at pre-scheduled times. We will use the web conferencing software Zoom, which is freely available.

All classes will be held between 5–8:30 PM Budapest time, which corresponds to these US timezones:

  • 11 AM – 2:30 PM Eastern
  • 10 AM – 1:30 PM Central
  • 9 AM – 12:30 PM Mountain
  • 8 AM – 11:30 AM Pacific

Each course will meet two days per week for 1.5 hours each day. (Exception: DRS will meet once a week.) For more details, see the Schedule page.  

BSME Grade Sheet

BSME is not charging tuition or issuing transferable credit for the Fall 2020 program. Students who successfully complete their coursework will receive a BSME grade sheet (non-credit) and a BSME T-shirt.

apply